Friday, 24 June 2011

The Kills – Future Starts Slow

Rock duo The Kills recently released a new promo for their latest single, ‘Future Starts Slow’.
The video follows the band on their hectic touring schedule in the lead up to their new album, Blood Pressures, which is out now via Domino.

Future Starts Slow is a serious apogee of the progress they’ve made, demonstrating a synced, sexually tense, two-piece that leaves a celebratory uppercut on indie garage rock.
The video was directed by Philip Andelman.

Tuesday, 7 June 2011

BRAHMS - Repeat It

  Amazing track 'Repeat' It is taken from BRAHMS electronic trio from NY,self released debut 7"

  BRAHMS turn things upside down on us in the video for ‘Repeat it’. Apparently, the band shot this visual in Tokyo, using nothing but their iPhones and some surveillance cameras.The city shots also make an appropriately angular background for “Repeat It”‘s clean lines. The video was edited by Adam Bennett. 

  That feeling of removal and disconnection in the footage works well with the track, which, like other BRAHMS songs, keeps some emotional distance between the vocals, the instruments, and the listener.

  This one will get your heart racing. The dark, intense, flickering, digital vibe is the perfect complement for these New Wave revivalist’s sound on this cut ,like it's straight out of a 1980s new wave club.
  Enjoy in Video, 
Worth for every repeat it again...

Sunday, 5 June 2011

IamX - Rain To Sea

You are the summer in my bed
Fooling around
Wearing the daylight round your neck
Calming me down.

Save the fire
Cause there's no moss
Come to me
Like rain to sea.

You shone in the circus
While the crowd drunk and amazed
Breaking so many circles
Counting clouds
Feeling the wave.

Save the lover
Survive on one
Into me like rain to sea.

Thursday, 2 June 2011

Tesla Boy - Rebecca (Modern Thrills)

  Tesla Boy is a Russian Electro/Pop/New Wave band formed in 2008 in Moscow. The band members are Anton Sevidov (vocals and keyboards), Dima Dimborn (bass and background vocals), and Boris Lifshits (drums). 

  The band's name is taken from the title of a song written by Anton and Dima during the beginning of their collaboration about a boy who could conduct electricity but could not control it and hurt those who came too near him. The idea was inspired by the apartment in which Anton lived for most of his life which was above a huge electrical transformer that made him constantly feel the presence of electricity.

  The band started by recording a five-track demo entitled "The Tesla Boy", distributing it amongst friends and on the internet. It was later published under the title "The Tesla Boy EP." The promo CD features full artwork by DW Design studios. Bloggers took note of the demo, describing the band's music as "some of the most exciting electronic music of the year", "the best thing to come from Russia since vodka" and "the finest pop group in the world today".

  The band were quickly booked for sold-out concerts in many major Soviet cities and headlined three major Russian music festivals: Afisha, Stereoleto and MIGZ. In July 2010, they played the Elektrana stage at Serbia's EXIT Festival.

  Since August 2009, the band has been signed to the British label Mullet Records. The label released the aforementioned demo "The Tesla Boy EP" along with a "The Tesla Boy" remix EP, and the band's debut LP "Modern Thrills" in May 2010, which was followed by the three singles "Electric Lady, "Thinking Of You" and "Liberating Soul". The debut album is the band's first official physical release on CD, with the cover design contributed by the New York City-based design studio Mogollon.

  In 2010, Tesla Boy collaborated in a live-only project with Poko Cox  for many live performances, which included some of Poko's tracks. Their first live performance together was in Kiev, Russia, followed by shows in the country.
Their songs "Fire," "Electric Lady" and "It's Not Loving" have been in heavy rotation at Radio Maximum since 2009, as well as the track Spirit of the Night starting in 2010. "Electric Lady" and "Fire" entered Radio Maximum's 2009 Top 100. The music video for "Electric Lady" has been featured on Muz-TV Russina since 2010. "Electric Lady" was featured on the Nu Disco compilation released by Hed Kendi Records, and an extended mix of the song was featured on the A Blues from the Gutter compilation mixed by Blackstrobe.

 The band has remixed tracks by Anoraak, Manicure, Sally Shapiro and Alla Pugacheva.
All music and lyrics are written by the band members; all stylistic decisions, regarding the concept, the direction of music and production, are made by the band.

 It is a brilliant showcase of their mixing skills – nu-disco, deep and dreamwave-y.

Fans of ’80s synthpop/new wave sound, it’s time to get thrilled!


Track list: 
1. Electric Lady 
2. Synthetic Prince 
3. Rebecca 
4. Synchronizing 
5. Minsk-2 
6. Dark Street 
7. Liberating Soul 
8. Fire 
9. Make Believe Ballroom 
10. Thinking of You 
11. Speed of Light