Monday, 28 February 2011

Madrugada - The Best of Madrugada

   Madrugada was a Norwegian rock band formed in the town of Stokmarknes 1995. The band members included Frode Jacobsen (bass), Sivert Høyem (vocals) and Robert Burås (guitar). After the death of Burås on July 12, 2007 Høyem and Jacobsen decided to finish recording their latest album. The album, entitled Madrugada, was released on January 21, 2008. After the release of the album the band announced they would split after one last tour. They performed their last ever concert on November 15, 2008 at Oslo Spektrum in Oslo-Norway.

  They have released six albums plus some EP's and singles.
  If you don't have any of them, please check them out you will not be disappointed.

   10 years after their critically acclaimed debut Industrial Silence, the time has now come for The Best Of Madrugada – a double album packed with career highlights. 
  This is the ultimate distillate of a musical era that stands without comparison in the history of Norwegian rock - the final chapter of a band that ended way too soon. Their legacy speaks for itself. A wonderful treasure trove of music that has stood the test of time and that will continue to engage and amaze new listeners in the years to come.

Saturday, 19 February 2011

The Kills - The Satellite/Blood Pressures (2011)

      With each passing day,  The Kills' 2011 plans become increasingly overwhelming. 
     London duo The Kills are back with a brand new track, Satellite.  It has a kind of scuzzy-lazy-reggae feel to it. 
     The chilling dark-rock overtones and almost painstakingly heartbreaking lyrics off their first single “Satellite” gives listeners a taste of what’s coming their way April 5th.
     Blood Pressures is due for release via Domino Records.

           Until then, 
                  Enjoy in their new video!!


Saturday, 12 February 2011

Apoptygma Berzerk - Rocket Science

   Apoptygma Berzerk (commonly abbreviated to APB or Apop) is a Norwegian musical group. They have achieved success with a brand ofsynthpop, and ballads backed with electronic rhythms, commonly known within the scene and referring to themselves as futurepop. Apop has won awards and top-10 spots in Germany and Scandinavia. Apoptygma Berzerk has toured Europe, North America, Australia and Israel with bands such as VNV Nation , Beborn Beton and Icon of Coil.
  The name "Apoptygma Berzerk" either has a secret meaning or does not mean anything. The name is reminiscent of the word apophthegm, which means a statement that speaks one's mind - which would make the title mean a berserk manifesto. Frontman and founding member Stephan Groth claims that it was randomly picked out of a dictionary (apoptygma being derived from the Ancient Greek word ἀπόπτυγμα meaning "piece of a tunic"). The band's name is pronounced a-pop-tig-ma.
The band was formed by Groth and Jon Erik Martinsen in 1989. They recorded a few demos, including Victims of Mutilation.
  The first two albums, Soli De Gloria and 7 were a similar style of electropop and EBM. Welcome to Earth included a few tracks that sound experimental, getting away from the band's roots slightly. Harmonizer featured a softer, more synthpop-oriented direction when compared to previous albums, and their 2007 album, You and Me Against the World, represented an almost complete change in style for the band. It featured a more mainstream, Indie rock-oriented sound, and the complete departure from the band's traditional electric synthpop and EBM roots that started with 7.
  With the release of latest albumRocket Science apop still going on the rock vibe while keeping close with synthpop sound.

A song Shadow reminds us on the best what Apoptygma can record, it is the best from this album Rocket Science! Enjoy!


Apoptygma Berzerk has a fantastic sense in making a very good and often much better cover songs than original, if I might say so, but I like it, which one you prefer?
In anyway, ENJOY!!

Friday, 4 February 2011

The Last Shadow Puppets - The Age of the Understatement

The Last Shadow Puppets is a band that consists of Alex Turner of Sheffield band Arctic Monkeys and Miles Kane of The Rascals. They released their debut album, The Age of the Understatement, in the UK. The album also features James Ford (producer and half of the duo Simian Mobile Disco) and string arrangements from Owen Pallett a.k.a Final Fantasy. The album went straight to number one in the UK Albums Chart, and today, it is the same good timeless stuff which we can listen even more than ever...

This video inspires all...