Tuesday, 15 November 2011

Blacklist - Midnight Of The Century

  Blacklist is a band from Brooklyn, New York composed of Josh Strawn (vocals, guitar), Ryan Rayhill (bass), Glenn Maryansky (drums), and James Minor (guitar).

  They are one of the flagship bands of painter Pieter Schoolwerth's Wierd Records imprint. The band creates atmospheric modern rock music that has been described as "anthemic,", "darkly erotic, strangely sensual", and "brings a much-needed anomaly in NYC's music scene." 
  They are sometimes classified as part of the post punk revival, though the sound is generally more dense, sonically incorporating elements of shoegaze with coldwave. 

   Blacklist's first EP was self-released and is currently out of print.
  The Solidaire EP was then released including a cover of seminal French coldwave band Asylum Party's song "Pure Joy In My Heart." 
  The band's debut LP, Midnight of the Century, was released digitally on May 26, 2009 and on CD on July 28, 2009.It was mixed by Ed Buller and mastered by Howie Weinberg. 
  The album title is a reference to the revolutionary Victor Serge's book, Midnight In the Century.

  The lyrics to Blacklist songs often contain references to various authors, philosophers, and historical events.